Fez #33: Nick Blair

Media_httpfarm5static_ndirt

“Dear Members of The Order Of The Fez,

I am humbly and respectfully requesting entrance into your organization and am petitioning for the number thirty three. I have been reading the entries on your website for a good while and would be honored to be included in your ranks. Recently, with good wishes from The Fezmonger, I created my very own Fez. Partially because I was curious about the amount of effort that goes into creating something like this and also because I wanted a fez that I personally made, knowing that at the right moment in time I would petition for membership in your illustrious group.

I have been a photographer and artist for as far back as I can remember. I have been a Disc Jockey on a couple of FM radio stations, sold women’s shoes, made and delivered pizzas and even was a Barista (I love coffee and tea). I am a videographer and video editor currently working in Washington DC (USA) and live in the state of Maryland (USA).

I grew up traveling the US as the son of an Army Sergeant. I saw my first Fez in the 1960’s when an uncle brought one back from the middle east. I spent 20 years of my life in the Army, traveling around the world. I lived a little over a year in a small town (Sinop) in Northern Turkey, and a few years in Europe. I feel my worldly view should only add to the organization (should I be granted entrance). I have a love of surfing, anything Tiki, bongo drums, and obviously anything Fezish. I am currently building cigarbox ukuleles. I am also known around the internet, Twitter, and Twibes as the snikitiki. I am submitting a photo of myself and hope it does not detract from my request. This will be the first photo of myself on the internet and will break my anonymity rule (Heaven help me!). I anxiously await your response.”

Respectfully Yours,
Nick “snikitiki” Blair


Whew. I don’t know where to begin. This Petition of Worthiness is obviously risking the life of #33 since he is breaking a long-standing, elaborate deep cover for some unnamed government agency (that doesn’t really exist). Just to join on ranks. Big Fez Mojo. Please make him feel welcome. This blog post will self-destruct in 10 seconds.

Leave a Reply

